Welcoming Spring With A Dahlia Tutorial!!

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

It’s finally Spring…Yay…and I’ve been itching to get back in the blog world and get to making some of the projects on my ever-growing Pinterest Board so I thought I would start off with making a Dahlia out of cardstock to hang on the wall in my newly painted kitchen!!

….About that Kitchen….I’ve been working on it for what seems like forever and I’m still not finished….but I’m so much closer to being able to reveal it and I’m super excited about that! (Trust me you will be the first to see it once we get the last details finished!!…Hopefully soon!!)

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

Ok back to the Dahlia DIY Tutorial 🙂 Dahlia’s are my one of my favorite flowers, I just love the way they bloom! A few months back I had pinned a Black Dahlia Tutorial but for some reason when I went back to actually look at it the link had been marked as spam…boo….so I put it off for a little while and decided I would eventually get around to it. Then the other night I was pinning away on Pinterest and came across THIS little gem! She had made the Dahlia almost the same way as the previous one I had seen and made a tutorial for it!! Score!! I love the colors she used, very Springy! So I gathered my supplies and went to work! Following along with her instructions I soon realized that I needed to tweak a few things, I wanted mine to be a little more full and thus this tutorial was born….Hopefully between her tutorial and mine you will be able to create your perfect Dahlia! 🙂

Supplies I used:

  • Cereal box
  • Plate for tracing my circle
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Hot Glue Gun
  • Cardstock (18 pieces of 8.5 x 11)
  • Ruler

First I opened up the Cereal Box and traced the plate I had (it was about 7 1/4 in diameter).

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

Cut it out and there I had my base!

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

I set that aside for a minute to focus on cutting my cardstock. I took my 18 pieces of Cardstock Paper (8.5 x 11) and cut them into 4ths. So I ended up with a bunch of 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 pieces to start rolling into my petals.

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

Rolling the cardstock into petals for me wasn’t the fun part, I tend to be on the perfectionist side and there is just no way to make sure every single one is rolled the exact same way drives me a bit bonkers! Anyway I finally figured out a method that worked for me and just went with it!

Next you want to start hot gluing your petals to the base. I glued mine about a half an inch apart for the bottom layer. Again it’s not perfect, I would suggest if you are like me and want it all to be even lay out your petals first to see how you want them spaced and then glue. I am an impatient crafter, so I tend dive right in and then realize I could of solved my space issue if I had planned a little better 🙂

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

(please ignore crappy photo(s) I started this at night and I’m not great with a camera 🙂 )

Then I layered my next petals in between the previous row to cover the open spots.

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

I continued to layer the next row right in between the previous row.

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

With each row I made sure that the inner row of petals was shorter than the previous one. I wanted my Dahlia to be very full. So I layered them in between the previous row and on the inner circle of the previous row. Making sure I filled every single space until I got to the center. This is where it got tricky for me. I decided that the best way to do the center of the flower was to cut 1 inch off the bottom of 3 petals and then fold the bottom a 1/2 inch. Once I did that I took each one and hot glued them to the center in the space that was left to fill.

(The picture below is showing how I folded the first center petal after cutting the 1 inch off.)

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

And there you have it! Your very full Dahlia!

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

Dahlia DIY Tutorial

This project is one that can be completed in less than an hour! Which is just the kind of project I like 😉

I am planning on adding a command strip to the back of mine and hanging it on the wall in my kitchen! This could totally be an awesome wreath if you wanted to hot glue some burlap on the back and hang it on your front door! I can think of a ton of ways to use this in any decor by changing the colors and getting creative! Think inside an empty picture frame would be totes cute! Get creative with it and the possibilities are endless! 😉

ChristaSignature3

5 thoughts on “Welcoming Spring With A Dahlia Tutorial!!

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Walls Makeover – Part 3 | House of Coleman

  2. Pingback: Chevron Canvas Wall Art DIY | House of Coleman

  3. I absolutely LOVE your dahlia! I made one awhile back using flea market books, and then donated it to the local library. I wanted to make another, but couldn’t find the tutorial anymore! So happy I stumbled onto your blog and your step-by-step guide today – thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

